Self-guided Tour

The tour is a set of three major attractions on Île Verte: the Michaud school, the skeleton museum and the lighthouse site. To get acquainted with the island, there’s nothing better than starting with the tour. Each site is unique and holds a multitude of treasures and discoveries. To start the tour, go to the old schoolhouse, the École Michaud, which is the visitor centre and ticket counter for the tour. It is located just a few steps to the west of the arrival dock, the Quai du Bout d’en Bas (the “quay of the western tip”).


Open : June 24 to August 25 Time : 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.

From August 25 to September 1, the schedule will be posted at the old schoolhouse. Group visits may also be arranged outside of the normal hours. Reservations required.

Contact (in season) : 418-898-4055

L'École Michaud

École Michaud (Old Schoolhouse)

Make sure to visit the exhibit at École Michaud, an old country schoolhouse converted into an interpretation centre about island life. This fascinating exhibit bears witness to the past and present of the people of the island. You’ll learn about some of the activities that were central to the islanders lives, such as harvesting eelgrass, which vanished in the 1930s; fishing with weirs; and transportation by boat between the island and the mainland. The exhibit also includes a display about how fishing weirs were made and another about the archaeological discoveries made on the island some years ago.

Le musée du squelette

Musée du squelette (Animal Skeleton Museum)

The Musée du squelette is the only one of its kind in Quebec. Here you can find out everything you’ve always wanted to know about animal skeletons. During a guided tour of this remarkable collection, you’ll see more than 300 animal skeletons, partial skeletons and skulls. Get an introduction to osteology – the study of bones – and learn how the skeletons of different animal species have evolved to adapt to their varied environments and ensure their survival.

La maison du Phare

Site du Phare (Lighthouse)

Discover one of the most beautiful sites in the Bas-Saint-Laurent region, offering extraordinary views of the land and sea. The site includes a fascinating museum presenting the story of the lighthouse and its keepers, housed in the Cabane du Criard (signal house) and the Cabane à l’huile (fuel shed). Built in 1809, the Île Verte lighthouse is the oldest on the St. Lawrence. After visiting the museum, climb to the top of the lighthouse to see its light and admire the surrounding land- and seascapes.

Où se loger
Où Manger?
S'y rendre

backgroundImage

Circuit touristique

Le circuit touristique, c’est un ensemble de trois attraits importants de l'île Verte : l’École Michaud, le Musée du squelette et le site du Phare. Pour bien connaître l’Île, rien de mieux que de commencer par une visite du Circuit touristique. Chaque site est unique et renferme des trésors de découvertes. Pour commencer, rendez-vous à l’École Michaud, le centre d’accueil du Circuit touristique et la billetterie. Elle est située à quelques pas, à l’ouest, du quai du Bout d’en Bas.

 

Date : du 24 juin au 25 août Heure : 9h30 à 17h00

Entre le 25 août et le 1er septembre, l’horaire sera affiché sur place. 
Des visites sont aussi possibles, pour des groupes, en dehors de cette période. Réservation obligatoire.

Contact (en saison) : 418-898-4055

L'École Michaud

École Michaud

Ne manquez pas de visiter l’exposition de l’école Michaud, une ancienne école de rang transformée en centre d’interprétation sur la vie insulaire. Cette exposition témoigne, de façon fort intéressante, de la vie des insulaires sur l’Île, d’hier à aujourd’hui. L’importance de certaines activités, pour les gens de l’Île, comme la mousse de mer, disparue dans les années 1930, la pêche à la fascine, la navigation et les transports entre l’Île et la terre ferme vous sera expliquée. Pour compléter la visite, vous pourrez en apprendre davantage sur la construction d’une pêche à la fascine et sur les découvertes archéologiques réalisées sur l’Île Verte, il y a quelques années.

Le musée du squelette

Musée du squelette

Le Musée du squelette est un musée unique au Québec, où vous apprendrez tout ce que vous avez toujours voulu savoir sur le squelette. Venez admirer, au fil d'une visite guidée, une remarquable collection comportant plus de 300 squelettes, parties de squelettes et crânes. Initiez-vous à l'ostéologie et découvrez l'évolution du squelette à travers les diverses adaptations liées à l’environnement et à la survie des espèces.

La maison du Phare

Site du Phare

Découvrez l’un des plus beaux sites du Bas-Saint-Laurent. Les paysages sont magnifiques. On y trouve un fascinant musée, réparti dans la cabane du Criard et dans la Cabane à l’huile, relatant l’histoire du phare et de ses différents gardiens. Le phare de l’Île Verte est le plus vieux phare construit dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent (1809). Au terme de la visite, vous pourrez accéder à la lumière du phare et admirer les paysages du haut de la tour.

 
Où se loger
Où Manger?
S'y rendre